Uncategorized

27: birthday cake Oreos, the Staves @ 3rd and Lindsley, & wearing a black shirt.

I turned 27 on March 6th and, as the best gift of all time, Dienesa and Brooke came to Nashville for a reunion and to be the inaugural guests in our second bedroom. I can’t tell you the last time I stayed up until 3:00 in the morning, but it’s never more worth it than when it’s with those two.

We started with seeing The Staves in concert with Mikaela Davis at 3rd & Lindsley, and oh man, I loved everything about it. Mikaela Davis opened, and she sings and plays the harp, which was really interesting and unexpected (and beautiful). The Staves’ music was incredible—simple, lovely, haunting harmonies that created this almost-sacred feel in the room. You could tell every note had the audience hanging on at the edge of their seats for what would happen next.

image2

image3

Plus, 3rd & Lindsley was basically the perfect venue. It wasn’t too big, it had tables, and we sat upstairs in a loft area that encircled the whole room. We had a delicious dinner there, too, and I am guaranteed to enjoy anything in which there is great music, appetizers, and a place to sit down.

image1

When we got home, we settled in and talked to three o’clock in the morning. We snacked on my favorite chocolate chip cookies (complete with sprinkles, because birthday) and birthday cake Oreos. There is just nothing like being with your best friends and remembering how much you need them. (Also, if you weren’t sure whether I was a Purdue fan, well, you shall be confused no more.)

image4

The next day, we had an early lunch at Chick-fil-a and headed to Target for some shopping. By 1 pm, it was time for cake and coffee at Fido. We basically ate continually, but what else are birthdays for? We split a slice of red velvet and a slice of blueberry almond cake. You can see how I felt about them.

image5

This is the first evidence of the black shirt I bought on clearance at Target a few days ago. I saw it and loved it (it has these lovely white embroidered flowers along the bottom), but initially I immediately put it back on the rack since I wear almost no black because of my skin issues. Black shirts always make me look like I have uncontrollable dandruff, which is not a look I tend to work toward. But I bought this one because MY SKIN IS BETTER. I walked out of my room on my birthday and said “I AM WEARING A BLACK SHIRT TO CELEBRATE MY BIRTHDAY” which seems sort of melancholy but let me assure you, this is the black shirt of victory.

After Fido, we hung out back at the apartment with Ben and I had to take my third Taltz shot. Not fun, but my tummy was only sore for a few minutes. And I was wearing a black shirt. Worth it. (Taking those shots at home on my own makes me feel so strong. Like Rachel McAdams in Morning Glory. What a great movie…and blog tangent.)

For dinner, I had to have some chips and salsa (as usual), so we headed to our favorite local Mexican restaurant and my sneaky friends made this happen:

IMG_4330

27 is clearly the year of sophistication as I had the foresight to match my classy black shirt with my not-so-classy sombrero.

We finished the night with the finale of Kids Baking Championship, reminiscing about our friend group from Purdue, and a few more Oreos. In the morning, I worked while we had breakfast at another local favorite, City Limits, and Dienesa loved her breakfast so much she talked to it. They serve the confusingly named but delicious banini—a bagel panini. Nothing to do with bananas. I had a wheat bagel with ham, cheddar, and egg whites all melted together in the panini press. And French vanilla coffee. A perfect way to begin the day.

And then, as we always have, we hugged and made plans for our next visit and I am still left in awe of how kind the Lord has been to us. It was a great kindness He enacted in our lives by leading us to Purdue, leading us to each other, and knitting our hearts together in a way that distance and life changes will never touch. We’re coming up on having known each other ten years—from age 18 to age 28—and we do not take for granted that we have each other. We owe something this good to the only One who knows how to give the best gifts, the very ones that offer us those things we never knew to ask for.

“In friendship…we think we have chosen our peers. In reality a few years’ difference in the dates of our births, a few more miles between certain houses, the choice of one university instead of another…the accident of a topic being raised or not raised at a first meeting–any of these chances might have kept us apart. But, for a Christian, there are, strictly speaking no chances. A secret master of ceremonies has been at work. Christ, who said to the disciples, “Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you,” can truly say to every group of Christian friends, “Ye have not chosen one another but I have chosen you for one another.” The friendship is not a reward for our discriminating and good taste in finding one another out. It is the instrument by which God reveals to each of us the beauties of others.”

CS Lewis

photo credit: Dienesa Le

2 thoughts on “27: birthday cake Oreos, the Staves @ 3rd and Lindsley, & wearing a black shirt.

Leave a Reply

