Uncategorized

I know a few things about baking.

I can try and nearly succeed at almost any Pinterest recipe I find, but I hadn’t gone down the path of recipe invention until a few days ago. I decided to see if I knew enough about the science of baking what a cake batter should look like in the mixer to make up a recipe of my own. I’d seen an upside down cake recipe on Farmhouse Rules the other day and went in that direction.

First, I tossed the apples in a brown sugar-cinnamon-nutmeg situation and let them sit for a bit. I decided the batter would be, essentially, a vanilla cake with a bit of cinnamon. In the mixer, I added room temperature butter, sugar, vanilla, and eggs. Then came the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, and baking soda. I added a bit of milk and finished it with cinnamon. There were tiny bits of cinnamon dotting the batter–it was lovely.

IMG_9557

I arranged the sugary apples at the bottom of the cake pan and poured the batter on top.

IMG_9558

IMG_9560

Then it went in the oven at 350 degrees for between 40-45 minutes, which was enough time to clean the disaster I had wrought on the kitchen counter.

FullSizeRender (4)

Sheesh. But then oh my word, look at this:

FullSizeRender (5)

After about 10-15 minutes (and deciding I couldn’t wait a minute more even though the pan was still very much hot), I flipped it over onto a serving platter.

IMG_9567

IMG_9568

IMG_9569

Would you look at that, people. And it. was. delicious!

IMG_9575

IMG_9577

Here’s the recipe! Send me pictures if you try it out. :)



Apple Upside-Down Cake
 

by Anne Charlton

For fruit:

1 apple
3 generous tablespoons brown sugar
½ tsp cinnamon
scant ¼ tsp nutmeg
splash vanilla

For batter:

1 cup sugar
1 stick butter, room temperature/softened
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1 1/3 cup flour
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¼ cup milk
½ tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Thoroughly grease an 8 inch cake pan (or similar).

Slice apple into ¼-inch thick slices. You may peel the apples or leave the skin on (I left the skin on; it just makes the cake prettier, I think). Place in a small bowl. To the apples, add brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. Toss with a spoon to coat and set aside.

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream sugar and butter until fluffy and light yellow. With the mixer on low, add vanilla. Crack two eggs into a glass measuring cup and add them one at a time to the mixture, slowly, with the mixer on low.

In a small bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and baking powder. With the mixer on low, add dry ingredients slowly. When the mixture looks fairly dry, add milk slowly. Turn mixer up slightly to combine all ingredients until the mixture looks soft and folds around the paddle attachment easily. Turn the mixer to low and add cinnamon. Turn the mixer off and scrape down the side of the bowl to ensure that the mixture is fully combined.

Return to the bowl of apples and give them a quick toss. Arrange on the bottom of the cake pan, separating them evenly (I arranged them in a circular pattern, but anything will do). Pour the batter onto the apples carefully; it will be thick. Use spatula to spread the batter gently over the apples. Be cautious not to move the apples too much under the batter.

Place into the oven and bake for 40-45 minutes until the top of the cake is a deep golden brown. Let cool on a cooling rack for 10-15 minutes, then invert onto a serving platter.

Leave a Reply

