Uncategorized

So I could walk right through it.

You split the sea so I could walk right through it…
(No Longer Slaves, Bethel Music)

I’ve been thinking about opportunities lately. What happens when you jump in and take one. My summer plans are taking me to Fort Wayne for a few months. I’ll write there and work a bit and soak up some family time. It’s been a rough several months, and I’ll breathe deeply. I already am. There was an opportunity to take this break from the norm and dive in to writing and I took it.

As always, with anything big going on, I have baked in the background. Blueberry breakfast cake. Ingredients full of color–stark white, bright lemon yellow, deep blueberry navy–came together as always. Thick and sugary and like clockwork. Does anyone else kind of love the little wisps of flour that hold at the top of the bowl?

BlueberryCake2
It’s not easy to make a big decision. Every time I feel like I’m not old enough to make “these kinds” of decisions. I’ve always believed that our lives and happenings add up to something we can’t plan and don’t know in advance, and this felt like the first opportunity I had to act on that. So I did. Remember when I went to France? It felt like that.

I use my pie pans for everything. They can make anything a little brighter, a little fancier. My sister gave me this particular one, and I love it even more for that. I buttered the bottom and sides of the plate and let the batter fall in, smoothing out the top.

BlueberryCake4
Almost every morning on my way to work after I decided to move, I listened to Bethel Music’s “No Longer Slaves.” My favorite line references the Red Sea: “You split the sea so I could walk right through it.” I was struck, over and over again, by the second part of the line. The Lord acts so we can step into what He has prepared. Not so we could remain fearful or look at what He’s done from far away, but so we could enter into His plans. If He splits a sea, I am to walk right through it.

Just as I started to smell blueberries and imagine their little bubbles popping through the cake, it was done. Is that not the most gorgeous thing?

BlueberryCake1
I’m moving to Fort Wayne for a bit but coming back to Nashville in the fall. (Nowhere compares, coffee-shop-wise, and that is an important detail, y’all.) I’ll get married in October (another even more important detail) and the rest, well, I’m not sure at all. But I know this:

And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place, that they should seek God, and perhaps feel their way toward him and find him. Yet he is actually not far from each one of us…

Acts 17:26-27, ESV

And I know that those allotted periods can be years or months or weeks. And I know that He splits seas so we can get from one place to another.

BlueberryCake3
Somehow, there is always breakfast, the reliability of blueberries baked in a pie plate, earthly things to depend on that point me to the ultimate Reliable one–the Lord who invites me to walk through His plans. And I will learn to do that over and over again, split sea after split sea.

 

Leave a Reply

