Uncategorized

What is it about pi(e)?

Back to baking for pi(e) day! This year I had fun baking for Ben’s niece Milly’s birthday party. There were chocolate cream pies, chess pies, fruit pies, pizza pies, and my contributions: mini apple pies and an apple-cranberry pie.

Here’s how I made the minis:

PiDay7

These had a lot of steps but were so worth it. I learned that it always pays off to take your time and do each step right. I diced the apples, mixed them with flour, sugar, cinnamon, and dashes of nutmeg and cloves. Then I let them macerate while I readied the crust, which, as it would seem, made all the difference. Meanwhile, the crumble topping (flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, oats, butter) was in the fridge so the butter would stay cold. To cut the crusts out, I used the top of a glass to trace circles and then rolled them out slightly to make sure the crusts went all the way up the sides of the muffin tins.

PiDay8

Then the crumble topping was crumbled on, and they went into the oven for about 35 minutes.

PiDay9

PiDay3

I mean, look at those, guys. And they came right out of the tins because I actually remembered to grease them. Tiny perfect pies.

For the apple-cranberry, I started with the pie plate from Anthropologie that Mamaw gave me for Christmas. I love that the pie hides what’s on the bottom of it, like a cute little secret:

PiDay6

I used this recipe from In Honor of Design. I mean, just look at this pie filling:

PiDay4

PiDay5

All laced up and ready to go in the oven!

PiDay1

DROOOOL.

PiDay2

CRUST. SUGAR. BERRIES.

Okay, that’s enough. Y’all, I can’t even tell you how the almost-sour berries mixed perfectly with the sugary apples…sigh. It was magical.

And making pies is even sweeter when they’re met with smiles from this cutie!

PiDay10PS: I waited about 3.14 seconds before sampling those tiny apple pies. Had to, because, you know. pi day.

Leave a Reply

