Uncategorized

101 Thoughts You Have When There is an Ice Storm in Nashville

  1. There’s no way this is going to happen.
  2. Can we stop talking about the weather?
  3. Nashville gets 9 months of summer and a brief window of bitter cold, surely this isn’t going to happen.
  4. Maybe Vandy will have a snow day.
  5. Going to sleep on nights like this is like Christmas Eve.
  6. I can’t fall asleep.
  7. SNOW DAY!
  8. Er, ice day. This isn’t fun. Or fluffy.
  9. This sleet makes it sound like Rice Krispies outside.
  10. Snap, crackle, pop.
  11. Let’s make Rice Krispie treats!
  12. No marshmallows. Dang it.
  13. I should get some work done.
  14. NO I SHOULDN’T, IT’S A SNOW DAY! I can legitimately do nothing.
  15. Pinterest! What can I make?
  16. How nice to have all this time.
  17. I’ll catch up on laundry and dishes.
  18. Can we stop talking about the weather?
  19. Facebook, Twitter, Buzzfeed.
  20. Glad I have groceries.
  21. I can only eat sandwiches, though.
  22. Doing the dishes still sucks.
  23. I should take a shower.
  24. NOPE.
  25. I’ll Instagram a pretty picture of the ice. This will constitute “leaving the apartment.”
  26. I will not slip I will not slip I will not slip.
  27. I’ll make a President’s Day ice storm pun in the caption.
  28. I’m hilarious.
  29. Refresh for likes.
  30. Where da likes?
    Ice1
  31. Let’s bake donuts.
  32. How is it only noon?
  33. Mmm, donuts. With real vanilla beans. So fancy.
  34. How is it time for dinner?
  35. What did I do in the meantime?
  36. I WATCHED THE FOOD NETWORK FOR FIVE HOURS?!
  37. Time to eat again.
  38. Time to create another pile of dishes to do.
  39. The apartment was clean for .5 seconds.
  40. I shouldn’t eat any more calories. I have barely walked today.
  41. Mmm, some chocolate for dessert?
  42. I’m not tired. I’ll stay up til midnight.
  43. Facebook, Twitter, Buzzfeed.
  44. I guess I’ll sleep because it’s nighttime?
  45. ANOTHER SNOW DAY.
  46. Okay, I’m a little bit trapped here.
  47. What did I not watch on TV yesterday?
  48. I’ll check the Food Network schedule.
  49. CHOPPED MARATHON LATER!
  50. I’m hungry (which is weird, because I have burned no calories).
  51. Lunch shouldn’t be a main event of the day.
  52. I should wash the dishes again.
  53. Nah, whatever.
  54. I should get something done for real.
  55. After I watch another episode of Friends?
  56. Or seven?
  57. Okay, now I’ll write a thing!
  58. I wrote a thing!!
  59. I have been so productive today.
  60. I deserve to watch 7 episodes of Chopped.
    Ice2
  61. I haven’t eaten a vegetable in at least two days.
  62. Come here, baby carrots.
  63. I’m so healthy!
  64. I can have a Diet Coke after dinner, right?
  65. Sure.
  66. I’m bored. I’m bored. I’m bored.
  67. Sleep again, I guess. It’s dark.
  68. I HAVE GOT TO LEAVE TODAY.
  69. Scrape off the car!
  70. Wow, it really was an inch of ice.
  71. ICE SHARDS FLYING!
  72. This is a good way to get out aggression.
  73. I’m so strong. Look at me tearing away at this ice.
  74. I look ridiculous. I hope no one looks at me.
  75. I CAN SEE OUT ALL WINDOWS!
  76. To the best place in the world—the grocery store!
  77. I may just walk around and look at things.
  78. The roads are fine, you Southern wimps.
  79. HELLO FELLOW HUMANS!
  80. Don’t be weird. Don’t be weird.
  81. Keep to the list. No impulse buys.
  82. You’re feeling this way because you haven’t seen the world in a few days.
  83. It’s just so beautiful…
  84. Back to the apartment. It looks…the same.
  85. I forgot pickles. THE ONE THING I SHOULD’VE IMPULSE-BOUGHT.
  86. STATE OF EMERGENCY.
  87. I’m going to make the best sandwich in the world for lunch.
  88. I put too many red onions on here but WHO CARES, I HAVE A RED ONION.
  89. I bet I can make it to the coffee shop to work.
  90. Work, lol.
  91. Let’s try it.
  92. Shortcut roads; this was dumb.
  93. Open spaces in the parking lot.
  94. Coffee not from my Keurig!!!
  95. Would it be weird to tell the baristas how much their coffee shop means to me?
  96. Yes.
  97. Maybe they already know.
  98. Maybe I’ll just tweet it.
  99. Okay, buckle down. Work time.
  100. Facebook, Twitter, Buzzfeed.
  101. I should write a blog post about the ice storm. About what humans really need. Let me tell you, it is EACH OTHER. Thank you, other coffee shop patrons, for existing. I almost forgot you did.
2 thoughts on “101 Thoughts You Have When There is an Ice Storm in Nashville

  1. Try prolonging this for FIVE DAYS. FIVE DAYS I’ve been trapped in this apartment. I’ve read 3 books, cleaned my ENTIRE APARTMENT (which includes steam cleaning the carpets). I’ve baked cinnamon rolls, pies, cookies, and chili. I’ve walked to Kroger several times JUST to see other humans.

    And guess what the best part is. THERE’S MORE BAD WEATHER COMING IN TONIGHT AND I DO NOT HAVE ANY MORE DIET COKE. THERE IS NO END IN SIGHT!

Leave a Reply

