Uncategorized

The loveliest dessert in the world.

Y’all know by now how much I love reading Shauna Niequist’s blog. And her recipes, too, to be honest. Even her recipes read well. Is that weird?

One that I’d always wanted to try is in Bread & Wine (and on her blog, in case you want to try it, too). It’s a simple, lovely, easy blueberry (or any fruit you have) crisp. I had blueberries and a new pie plate and a game night with Ben and his family to bring a snack to, so here it is!

Crisp2
Here are the blueberries, modeling for the blog on top of my bookshelf in my new Anthro berry thing. I’ve been waiting for this thing to be on sale forEVER. (After I took this picture I put the berries back in their plastic tub in the fridge. Just so you know, I don’t have gratuitously placed blueberries sitting in filtered light in my real, actual existence.)

Crisp6
So really, all you do for this crisp is wash the berries and dump two pints of them into the pie plate. (Which Sous Chef Ben took care of while I prepared the topping.) That’s it. No sugar or anything. (Thanks to my sister Kim for this adorable pie plate!)

Crisp1
Next, I mixed the crisp topping part. I subbed in whole wheat flour for the almond meal Shauna uses (because hello, almond meal is like a billion dollars per tablespoon). That is an exaggeration, but only a slight one. It’s just flour, oats, pecans, syrup, olive oil (I know, weird!), and a pinch of salt.

Crisp5
Then I smushed the topping onto the blueberries.

Crisp4
Then I baked it for about 45 minutes until the berries were bubbling. Mmmm.

Crisp3
Just look at that thing.

And then it’s probably best to serve it with vanilla ice cream, of course. It’ll get all creamy and melty and the ice cream turns this brilliant shade of purple. What I loved most about this (besides all of it) was that the berries didn’t fully just “melt” together in the oven – some did, but some just burst open with every bite. You can also taste the olive oil in the crust – so this isn’t too sweet, a little savory, but all delicious. I’m going to make it with all the fruits!

Leave a Reply

