Uncategorized

Kitchen improv, or What to Do If the Puff Pastry Goes Bad.

When I finally had cleaned my kitchen and done all the dishes after the carpet issue and its subsequent displacement of, well, me, I woke up one morning ready to bake something. At 9 am. This is not the usual time I am at my best, but there were apples and puff pastry in the fridge, so I thought I’d make an easy apple tart.

But then the puff pastry was definitely past its prime…which I only found out after slicing the apples and tossing them in brown sugar. Oops. So instead, I made a pie-plate apple crisp. Here’s the recipe as I did it, but if I were to make it again, I’d use more of everything to make the crisp not so flat.

Ingredients:

3+ honeycrisp apples (or whatever you have on hand)
¼+ c brown sugar
pinch of salt

Crumble topping:

¼ c flour (not a heaping cup of flour, a little under ¼ c)
½ c oats
1 tsp cinnamon (or more—I only used 1 tsp because I actually ran out of cinnamon)
¼ tsp allspice
2+ tbsp butter, cut in

Slice the apples and toss them in brown sugar and salt.

AppleCrisp6

Pour the sugar-apples into a greased pie plate.

AppleCrisp4

Mix the dry ingredients of the crumble topping and then cut in the butter with two knives or pastry cutter.

AppleCrisp5

Sprinkle the butter-oat mix onto the apples.

AppleCrisp3

Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes or until the apples are bubbling and the crumble is golden brown and crispy.

AppleCrisp2

And then take a taste. Mmm.

AppleCrisp1

And then bring it to your people. They will totally geek out, and you will return home with an empty pie plate. :)

Leave a Reply

