31 Days in the Kitchen

The best part of fall.

It’s finally, finally, legitimately October in Nashville (with the exception of this almost-80-degree weekend). I can wear my boots and drink hot coffee and sit under blankets. I love it. I’m happier in this weather and I’ve been waiting for it since the wonderful summer reprieve of wearing a scarf in May in Chamonix. Praise the Lord for moving those seasons along.

Even though the rest of the world has been all pumpkin-y since August (cool it, Starbucks), I’m not into it until the weather really changes. Last week, it (I’ll say it again: finally) was time. I emailed my mom and asked for her legendary recipe for pumpkin bread. This recipe makes me feel like I’m at home. It’s completely familiar. It’s crisp and sweet and delicious. The crumbly topping is heavenly.

Here are the ingredients:

IMG_6042

It’s a really simple recipe. Combine all the dry ingredients (including the sugar):

IMG_6045

Then all the wet ingredients.

IMG_6046

Then pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix together.

IMG_6047

And then pour it into several greased and floured loaf pans.

IMG_6048

And cover it with the crumble topping (which is pancake mix (who knew), brown sugar, pecans and cinnamon, with a tablespoon of butter cut in).

Side note: this recipe has one tablespoon of butter in it. It’s practically health bread.

Then bake for an hour and fifteen minutes and walk around the house because every room will almost instantly smell like pumpkin bread.

And then it’s done.

IMG_6050

IMG_6052

Whoa. This pumpkin bread, I tell ya. It is magical. It is my love language. And it is my breakfast/snack/dessert until further notice. Happy fall!

IMG_6054

2 thoughts on “The best part of fall.

  1. I can–and will!–totally attest to the awesomeness of this bread. Thank you Anne–and my son and husband who demolished the loaf you gave me thank you also!

Leave a Reply

