Uncategorized

The Unlikely Pancake.

Hi there, Anne’s Internet Friends!

I’m Jane (Twitter | FB | Insta). Anne and I went to high school together, and she’s basically one of my favorite people in existence. Honored to be guest-posting today for A New Front-Page Sky and #31daysinthekitchen.

Anne and Jane in the Tiny Kitchen.
Anne and Jane in the Tiny Kitchen.

I’m not very strong, but I’d like to be. So I spend a moderate amount of time lifting at the gym and an entirely disproportionate amount of time searching Pinterest and Google for ways to add protein to recipes.

Jane9

I’ve had several mishaps along the way. Take, for example, the time I tried to make a smoothie out of tofu. It was… well, it was about as good as it sounds.

Nopetopus

But sometimes, I come across a gem. Today, I’m going to share my favorite protein-packed recipe of all time. I discovered it two years ago, and although I was skeptical at first, I loved it on my first try.

What more can I say about these pancakes? Basically, they’re amazing. In the words of Beyoncé Carter (née Knowles), I don’t think you’re ready for this jelly.

How-To

Jane4

  1. Start with equal parts egg whites, oatmeal, and cottage cheese. (Trust me.)
  2. Add sugar and cinnamon to taste. (Yes, tasting the batter requires eating raw egg whites, but according to data I found on some random website that may or may not be legit, the risk of getting salmonella is about 0.0113%. Rinse the eggs before you crack them and live a little.)
  3. Put that ish in the blender.

Jane5

[Bonus pro tip: Most blenders are compatible with standard-size mason jars. Cleaning up is way easier, and you’ll feel like your smoothie is an artisanally-crafted, locavore, food-truck masterpiece. It probably rides a unicycle to work, wears chambray, and composts its own garbage.]

  1. Spray a non-stick pan with oil. Pour some batter on. Wait. Flip that flapjack. Wait. Remove from pan. Repeat.

Jane7

And the final result:

Jane8

So light and fluffy! Plus, these guys have amazing macros. Check out the stats for a cup of batter with a teaspoon of sugar:

Jane10

23 grams of protein! And okay, so maybe eating these slathered in syrup negates the health benefits of making them out of protein-packed ingredients. But maple syrup is delicious, so #sorrynotsorry.

Leave a Reply

