Uncategorized

Overnight oats: the jury is out.

I always see recipes for overnight oats on Pinterest, and I love the idea of having breakfast ready to go in the morning. I’m a person who wants to like oatmeal…and I do, marginally, but it has to be really good. I like oatmeal in theory, I suppose, and only sometimes in practice. After making these cookies this past weekend, I had leftover oats (not the quick kind, the real ones), so I thought now is the time. Let’s make some overnight oats. Because putting something in a mason jar is adorable, right?

I based this loosely off a recipe I found here; it’s the peanut butter/banana recipe. Here are the ingredients I used (I omitted a bunch of the healthier ingredients I didn’t have on hand).

Oats, PB, half and half (that I mixed with a little water to get to the 1/2 cup the recipe called for), half a banana, vanilla and cinnamon.
Oats, PB, half and half (that I mixed with a little water to get to the 1/2 cup the recipe called for), half a banana, vanilla and cinnamon.

You just mix everything together in the jar and stick it in the fridge. Super easy. This is what it looked like after mixing it:

IMG_6031

IMG_6032
And then I ate it for breakfast, cold, because the recipe didn’t say to heat it.

IMG_6038

The oats were “cooked” like they would’ve been if I’d made oatmeal the regular way, and the banana slices were delicious after being in all that cinnamon. I only ate about half; this was really filling and more decadent than the breakfasts I usually have. I might omit the peanut butter next time – even though I love peanut butter – but for some reason it didn’t hit me as well as the rest of the oatmeal did.

Overall…I just don’t know. It makes me think of Friends, when Joey eats the custard Rachel makes for Thanksgiving (which accidentally includes “beef sauteed with peas and onions”):

Joeygif

I should like this more. I like all the parts. Hmm. I’ll have to try more recipes. Or try heating it up, but then you’re not really saving any time and have thus defeated the purpose of overnight oats, which are shaping up to be the great mystery of #31DaysintheKitchen.


UPDATE: I had leftover pumpkin from making pumpkin bread (which will be on the blog soon), so I tried pumpkin pie overnight oats. I mixed oats, pumpkin, half & half, water, sugar, pumpkin pie spice and a bit of maple syrup together and it did its thing overnight in the fridge. The recipe I worked from must’ve not included the right amount of oats, because it was majorly soupy. I heated it up on the stove and added more oats (so it was about a half cup total). These were much better than the first ones and tasted like pumpkin pie but a bit more on the savory side. Jury still out, though, because the texture was still kind of hmm.

IMG_6055

What do you all think? Share your favorite oatmeal recipes with me!

Leave a Reply

