Uncategorized

Here’s what’s happening on the ranch.

I made the Pioneer Woman’s strawberry oatmeal bars to bring in to the Curb Center the other day (and, let’s be real, so I would have dessert for a while). This is a really easy dessert to make; you probably have most of the ingredients on hand. I only had to buy the strawberry preserves. (And brown sugar, but that was because I was out after months and months of having it on hand.)

Here are the ingredients:

DSCN0442_1
There’s my computer with the recipe and an episode of Friends playing (basically an ingredient in itself).

First, you combine the oats, flour, brown sugar, baking powder and salt. Then cut in the butter with two knives or a pastry cutter (trust me, if you splurge for one of these things, you will not regret it).

DSCN0445_1

Press half the mixture lightly into the bottom of a baking dish.

DSCN0447_1

Then spread the jar of preserves over the bottom layer.

DSCN0450_1

Then sprinkle the rest of the mixture on top and press lightly.

DSCN0451_1

Then bake it in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes. I’d err on the side of less time; I didn’t hear my microwave beep (yep, I use the microwave timer, not the oven one) and let these go a little too long. They were a bit over-crisped. But still delicious! (And your coworkers will love you if you bring these in on a Monday. Trust me.)

DSCN0452_1

 

IMG_5874

 

Oh my goodness. YUM.
Oh my goodness. YUM.
Leave a Reply

