Uncategorized

Becoming Internet-famous.

Today I’m welcoming another guest-poster, my dear friend Logan Quigley. He’s a graduate student at Purdue University in English Language & Linguistics, and we met during my junior year (his sophomore year) at Purdue. He loves Lord of the Rings, Christmas (and winter weather), reminding me that Diet Coke is bad for me, and being at home with his family. He also loves answering “interview” questions over email. (At least, I hope he does.)

Here we are. Besties (with salted caramel apple hand pies and a braided spaghetti-in-bread thing).
Here we are. Besties (with salted caramel apple hand pies and a braided spaghetti-in-bread thing).

I told him we’d be talking about the critically-acclaimed (I mean, the never to be seen outside of Anne’s MacBook) Anne and Logan’s Cooking Show, several episodes of which have been filmed when we visit each other and cook things in the Tiny Kitchen. I also told him to be funny and that the tone of this was to be “hilarious celebrities take time to discuss their genius ideas together.” Here’s what we talked about:

Anne: Thanks again for doing this! I thought this would be a fun sort-of-guest-post.

Logan: I think this’ll be great!  Such a good idea.  Not entirely certain about this “be as funny as possible” nonsense — who among us has the ability to be funny on command?  Her Highnesses Tina Fey and Amy Poehler aside, of course.  But I promise to do the best I can, if you promise not to pass judgment.

I should probably begin with a quick rundown of who I am, where I come from, and why I should be a household name.  Everyone needs an introduction, no?

I am, quite obviously, the cohost of Anne and Logan’s Cooking Show (more on that later).  I’m a master’s student pretender who by the grace of Anoia, the Goddess of Cutlery, hasn’t been thrown out of my program yet (Terry Pratchett reference, for the non-Anglophiles among us), and my greatest untold shame is that one of Tolkien’s villains was named Lorgan, which is obviously much too close for comfort.  My favorite thing to cook is anything sans pork, and my favorite thing to talk about is the One Ring.  End of list.

Here's the real Logan.
Here’s the real Logan. Sometimes he gets up close and personal with the camera.

Anne: First – how did Anne and Logan’s Cooking Show start/where did the idea come from? (And what is it exactly that we do?) Why do we often cook together? Is there anything about cooking in particular that is fun for friends to do?

Logan: First, you know how unfair it is to ask me me a memory question!

Anne: That’s true, you have a terrible memory when it comes to good times with friends. I suppose I can forgive you.

Logan: Second, I just poured water all over my keyboard, so apologies for any crazy typos I might send.  Water spillage and memory insults aside, though, I’ll give it a go.

Anne and Logan’s kitchen started at the behest of one co-conspirator, Hayley.  She may have, at one time in the not-so-distant past, mentioned how amusing a culinary kitchen show featuring her favorite bloggers-in-crime, Anne and Logan, would have been.  At that instant, a star was born.  After celebrating the birth of Blue Ivy Carter, we returned to the matter at hand and decided that yes, an Anne and Logan cooking show was exactly what the world needed, aside from a lifetime membership to Keeping Up With The Kardashians.

Waiting for things to cook often gets tiring. Also pictured: co-conspirator Hayley!
Waiting for things to cook often gets tiring. Also pictured: co-conspirator Hayley!

In a different iteration of the tried-and-true classic that is the Anne and Logan’s Cooking Show origin story, it began while we were cooking up a storm in your tiny kitchen.  It may have been the same time that one of the hosts for the show (who will forever remain nameless and blameless) broke the apartment blinds; it may have been the time we decided to balance eggs to test the power of the equinox.  Those may have been the same time.  Either way, the generous helping of hilarity that is Anne and Logan’s Cooking Show was born.

Here Logan is showing off his muscles while we cook.
Here Logan is showing off his muscles while we cook.

Anne: Let it be known that Logan broke the blinds. Logan breaks something every time he comes to whatever place I am living in at the time. First the blinds, then this penguin magnet I had on my fridge…basically Logan breaks everything he touches. ANYWAY.

What are your favorite memories from cooking with Anne the blogger (see, celeb status!) and other friends?

Here I am consulting a recipe while Logan eats premade pie dough straight out of the fridge.
Here I am consulting a recipe while Logan eats premade pie dough straight out of the fridge.

Logan: Cooking with friends is always a blast, and occasionally not in the literal sense.  Whether it’s emulating My Drunk Kitchen by pretending to drink more wine than we can handle (while in reality treating the drink with the respect it deserves) or trying desperately to stuff a turkey in an apartment kitchen in front of a live studio audience (see: Hayley and co-friend Krista), the two to three episodes of our cooking show are filled with bundles of laughs designed to be accessible to present-day viewers as well as future posterity.

Logan usually ends up dancing during these cooking episodes.
Logan usually ends up dancing during these cooking episodes.

Exclusive exposé: Mostly, though, cooking with friends tends to be a repeating event in which I attempt to sneak off-recipe spices and other ingredients into the dish behind everyone’s backs.  Usually I’m successful, which is why the dishes never seem to turn out the way they should.

They’re always better.

Logan looking normal.
Logan looking normal.

Anne: That’s true, as much as this recipe-follower hates to admit it.

I believe Logan's commentary of this was something like "Look at this domestic scene!"
I believe Logan’s commentary on this was something like “Look at this domestic scene!”

Next time Logan’s on the blog, we’ll talk about Friendsgiving, a three-years-running tradition!

Leave a Reply

