Uncategorized

An homage to fromage.

I ate a lot of cheese in France.

Early on in the trip: jambon et fromage pizza.
Early on in the trip: jambon et fromage pizza.
Fromage at the co-op.
Fromage at the co-op.
First group dinner: tartiflette, which is pommes de terre, jambon et fromage (potatoes, ham and cheese).
First group dinner: tartiflette, which is pommes de terre, jambon et fromage (potatoes, ham and cheese).
Farmers' market fromage.
Farmers’ market fromage.

But the best was the night I had fondue for dinner. Trust me, you need only eat fondue once on a three week trip.

A group of us went to dinner at La Caleche. (I know. Just look at it. I took this photo on a walk around Chamonix in the rain. At first, that day, I was like darn, it’s raining but then I walked around anyway and look at that, Chamonix was extra gorgeous in the rain. Everyone with their cute umbrellas. AH.)

fromage11

This was the view when I turned around in my seat.

fromage10

Here is the fondue pot.

fromage7

Here are the meat and potatoes.

fromage8

Here is the bread and the little water jugs they gave us.

fromage9
See also: tiny pot of veggies. We tried to be healthy.

After eating enough for the next several days, we all hobbled home with the happiest stomach aches of our lives. I can’t even talk about it; it was so good. Everyone told me, upon hearing that I was going to France, about the cheese. But oh man. It really is the best cheese you will ever eat. That fondue night was one of the best of the whole trip.

Until next time, Chamonix cheese…

3 thoughts on “An homage to fromage.

Leave a Reply

