31 Days in the Kitchen

Mamaw’s guacamole.

I am (a little bit) obsessed.

Mamaw taught me how to make guacamole. It’s a really easy, healthy recipe (until you eat it on half a bag of tortilla chips, but we won’t go there). It’s also easily adaptable to specific tastes and serving sizes. I often make guacamole with just one avocado and however much of the other ingredients taste good. Example: tons of cilantro and zero tomatoes.

This recipe is for a shortcut-ish guacamole that will still taste amazing. When I have it, I use grated garlic instead of garlic powder and fresh lime juice instead of the refrigerated stuff. (Since usually I’m just cooking for myself, it’s easier to keep the refrigerated lemon and lime juice around.)

Here are the ingredients I use:

IMG_5814

There’s avocado, cilantro, red onion, garlic powder, lime juice, salt and pepper. (If you are a tomato person, there should also be one Roma tomato, from which you will remove the juice/seeds/inside stuff, chop, and combine with everything else. But I am not about tomatoes, which I promise I will stop mentioning ASAP.)

There should also be a jalapeno, which I forgot to get at the store and subsequently left out. The guac still tasted great, but I’d usually mince or grate a jalapeno (without the insides, unless you can handle that level of spiciness) and throw it in, too.

From there, I chop and slightly mash the avocado in a bowl. Then it’s just adding everything else: about ¼ cup onions and cilantro, all seasonings to taste (a few shakes of each for one avocado). Squeeze in enough lime juice to get the mixture to combine more smoothly.

Here’s what it looks like all mixed together. I could eat it with a spoon. With chips. On a taco. On chicken. Mmm.

Dad has been known to request this guacamole and to declare it just as good as Mamaw’s, which is only a compliment for her. We all have those recipes that take us back to our parents’ or grandparents’ kitchens, and guacamole is one of those for me. Mamaw’s an expert chef in general, but she’s especially good with Mexican food. I’ll share a pico de gallo recipe later on this month that she also taught me. It’s one of the few ways I can handle eating tomatoes. And it is delish.

Anyway. Happy Saturday, y’all. Make some guac while you’re watching football today!

Leave a Reply

