31 Days in the Kitchen

Why 31 Days in the Kitchen?

On July 9, 2013, I went to the 12 South Farmer’s Market and bought peaches and blueberries. I decided I was going to bake a pie that day.

IMG_2866

And I did. I figured it’d be a sort of isolated incident—one of those bursts of motivation and productivity, or the result of one of those pure summer days where you can give yourself a project because it’s summer and the peaches aren’t going to get any better than they are right now.

IMG_2872

But then a month later, after a few cookie recipes and an at-home version of a Chipotle burrito bowl (not the same no matter how hard you try), I made another pie.

Since then, I’ve made cookies and brownies and muffins and cupcakes. I’ve tried more pies (and with homemade crust!)—cider caramel apple, strawberry rhubarb, peach raspberry, apple with a cinnamon-y bacon crumble on top. I’ve made salted caramel apple hand pies and peach blueberry galettes. I’ve roasted vegetables, boiled pasta, flipped pancakes, and chopped cilantro, avocados and red onions. I’ve eaten my weight in French pastries and cheeses and charcuterie. I made lemon chicken pasta in a French kitchen. I’ve held a basket of French strawberries to my nose and walked home almost every day with a baguette in my arms.

Something changed when I made that first pie. For the next 31 days, I’m going to talk about what I’ve observed since falling in love with fresh ingredients and skillets and half sheet pans. I can gush over poems and other language-y things, as most know by now, but now I can do pretty much the same thing about garlic and olive oil.

So October will be a month of recipes I’ve tried, recipes I’ve made up, what happens when I pretend I’m on Chopped, things I love in my kitchen, what I think about while chopping vegetables and hopefully something that will add up to explaining (even to myself!) why I love to be in the kitchen. I hope you’ll follow along!

I’ll keep track of each day in the 31 Days tab at the top of the blog, so if you miss a couple days and want to read previous posts, check there!

IMG_3612

Here we go!

Missed a post? Check back here for links to all previous posts in 31 Days in the Kitchen!

Day 0 // Why 31 Days in the Kitchen.
Day 1 // A tour of the tiny kitchen.
Day 2 // That time I was (sort of) on Chopped.
Day 3 // What I learned from the Barefoot Contessa.
Day 4 // French improvisation + my favorite kitchen tool.
Day 5 // Baking pies in Chamonix.
Day 6 // Taco soup & recipe sharing.
Day 7 // Potage parmentier.
Day 8 // An apple galette for one.
Day 9 // From a Knoxville kitchen.
Day 10 // What all this will add up to.
Day 11 // Mamaw’s guacamole.
Day 12 // An homage to fromage.
Day 13 // A tour of pies.
Day 14 // The world’s most underrated vegetable.
Day 15 // Amped-up chicken tacos.
Day 16 // Becoming Internet-famous.
Day 17 // Why I eat tomatoes: pico de gallo.
Day 18 // Here’s what’s happening on the ranch.
Day 19 // Pour patisseries et du pain.
Day 20 // I love KitchenAid mixers.
Day 21 // Five things I learned from the Pioneer Woman.
Day 22 // Overnight oats: the jury is out.
Day 23 // The Unlikely Pancake.
Day 24 // I’ll lay the table.
Day 25 // The best part of fall.
Day 26 // Found in Chamonix.
Day 27 // #31DaysintheKitchen: a reading list.
Day 28 // A November tradition: Friendsgiving.
Day 29 // From my place at the table.
Day 30 // The recipe knows best.
Day 31 // 31 days later: here is what I know.

5 thoughts on “Why 31 Days in the Kitchen?

  1. Those hand pies look delicious – and you do them in a small kitchen? I’m impressed. I can’t wait to see what more you have :) I love reading how other people are in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

