Uncategorized

A birthday list for Dienesa.

Today is my best friend Dienesa’s birthday. In her honor, and because she was (and, according to her BFF Leslie Knope, still is) a beautiful, naive, sophisticated newborn baby, here is a list of Things Dienesa Loves.

  1. Her friends
    Hiking in the Smokies!
    Hiking in the Smokies!
  2. Her family
    Dienesafamily
    They go on super-cool vacations and have the BEST fashion sense.
  3. Knoxville
    Brooke and I visiting Knoxville
    Brooke and I visiting Knoxville
  4. Blueberries (see also: Michigan)
    In pie. On ice cream. For breakfast. In blueberry buckle. She loves 'em.
    In pie. On ice cream. For breakfast. In blueberry buckle. She loves ’em.
  5. Ticonderoga pencils
    Dienesa loves a good bouquet of newly-sharpened pencils.
    Dienesa loves a good bouquet of newly-sharpened pencils.
  6. Travel
    This is Dienesa and her friend Chloe in Italy. She's gonna be a travel writer one day, I just know it!
    This is Dienesa and her friend Chloe in Italy. She’s gonna be a travel writer one day, I just know it!
  7. Pie
    Slightly excited at the Loving Pie Company in Nashville.
    Slightly excited at the Loving Pie Company in Nashville.
  8. Nora (the dog) (see also: Nora Ephron movies)
    Not intentionally named after Nora Ephron, but come on. That is providence, my friends. How. Perfect.
    Not intentionally named after Nora Ephron, but come on. That is providence, my friends. How. Perfect.
  9. Good music
    Here we are at the Ryman before the Iron & Wine concert!
    Here we are at the Ryman before the Iron & Wine concert!
  10. Bathroom chats
    When we lived together, many an important conversation was started while brushing our teeth.
    When we lived together, many an important conversation was started while brushing our teeth.
  11. Chick-fil-a
    Upsize the fries forever.
    Upsize the fries forever.
  12. Purdue
    Dienesa frequently says "I'm so glad we have pictures from this night!!" (Midnight pancake breakfast, Hillenbrand Hall, junior year finals week)
    Dienesa frequently says “I’m so glad we have pictures from this night!!” (Midnight pancake breakfast, Hillenbrand Hall, junior year finals week)
  13. GIFs (see also: me sending her GIFs via text message)
    Dienesa also loves Parks & Rec. She is the Ann to my Leslie. (Incindentally, this GIF represents our views on our love lives.)
    Dienesa also loves Parks & Rec. She is the Ann to my Leslie. (Incindentally, this GIF represents our views on our love lives.)
  14. Mindy Kaling
    We have been known to listen to Mindy interviews in the car together. We just love her.
    We have been known to listen to Mindy interviews in the car together. We just love her.

    Happy birthday, my dear friend! Y’all, friends like Dienesa don’t come around often. She’s one of the best, and I am better for having her in my life. 

    (Dienesa, I meant what I said in my voicemail earlier: eat Chick-fil-a AND Chipotle today. You deserve it!)

2 thoughts on “A birthday list for Dienesa.

Leave a Reply

