31 Days in the Kitchen

Taco soup & recipe sharing.

I found a great recipe for taco soup the other night, and it only took about 35-40 minutes to make. The best part (besides the fact that it was super delicious) was that it didn’t make an insane amount of soup. I ate it for dinner two nights in a row and froze three servings of it, which I can easily eat later on without them disappearing to the back of the fridge.

The ingredients are simple; a lot of this recipe is simply combining cans (beans, tomatoes, etc). I could see adding in a bell pepper, as well, for extra freshness (I probably would have if I’d had one in the fridge). The original recipe also called for canned corn, but I had frozen on hand and didn’t even defrost it before tossing it in. Not pictured: one pound of ground beef.

Inadvertent Kroger ad?
Inadvertent Kroger ad?

First, brown the beef (I added salt, pepper, and a bit of garlic powder), chop the onion, and combine. Let the onions cook until translucent. (I also drained the beef because there was a lot of liquid/fat in the pan and I was not about mixing that into the soup.)

IMG_5774

Then add the taco seasoning, water, corn, black beans, and green chiles (don’t drain the cans).

IMG_5775

Then add the rest of the cans (tomato sauce and diced tomatoes).

IMG_5776

Then let it simmer/do its thing on the stove for about 20 minutes (or however long you have; the longer it goes, the better the flavor will be).

IMG_5779

I ate it with chips and cheese, but I could see adding some red onion, avocado, cilantro, or sour cream. It tasted like chili but with Mexican flavors. Delicious!

I also shared this recipe with my mom, who made it last night. These are the photo updates I received via text. They speak for themselves and for the value of recipe sharing!

With cheese, sour cream, and chips.
With cheese, sour cream, and chips.
Dad loves it!
Dad loves it!
Dolly, sadly, was not invited to the taco soup dinner.
Dolly, sadly, was not invited to the taco soup dinner.
This is a great soup, people.
This is a great soup, people.

3 thoughts on “Taco soup & recipe sharing.

Leave a comment